Google introduces safety warnings for corrupted and modified Android software

Guide for understanding what a new set of Android OS warnings mean, and what are the perfect steps you should take!

Google has posted in their support website the latest rules about their Mobile Operating system, Android. Calling it “Warning about operating system safety”, it seems the article has been put in place to sensitize people about understanding what a new set of notifications mean. The new warnings that Google is introducing could probable start effect with Android M since they never happened in previous devices.

So, why system will be used?

According to this news, Google expects every Android device should have OS from a trusted source. And if your device’s OS has been changed or corrupted you will definitely be getting warnings. This wil be possible when you turn on an Android device, the operating system is checked to make sure that it’s safe to use.


You may get one of the following warning messages to let you know that there could be a problem with your operating system:

“Your device has loaded a different operating system.” (Yellow)

Warning yellowWhat this warning means – this message lets you know that your device has a different operating system than the one that originally came on your device.

Once you get this kind of warning Google expects you to respond depending on whether you changed the operating system on purpose, or you probably didn’t change it yourself.

If in case you didn’t change the operating system yourself

You may choose to continue using your device with the current operating system, but will miss out a better experience with the original operating system.

You can contact your device manufacturer’s support center for help restoring the original operating system. Before you restore the operating system, make sure that any data you have on the device is backed up.

However if you changed the operating system on purpose you can choose to continue to use your device with the operating system you installed. Else, if you have a Nexus device and want to restore your OS, you can flash your device with the latest factory image.


“Your device software can’t be checked for corruption. Please lock the bootloader.” (Orange)

Warning orangeThis means that your device is in an “unlocked” state; so your operating system can’t be checked to make sure that it’s safe to use. If you use your device with an “unlocked” operating system, your device may be exposed to security risks. In this case Google recommend that you restore your device to the original operating system.

If by any chance you unlocked your device on purpose, you can continue to use your device. However, you acknowledge that your device may be exposed to security risks.

If you aren’t making changes to the OS regularly, we recommend that you lock the device by running fastboot lock to improve security.


“Your device is corrupt. It can’t be trusted and may not work properly.” (Red)

Warning redWhat this warning means – the operating system on your device has been changed or corrupted and is not safe to use. The device may not work properly and could expose your data to corruption and security risks.

If you didn’t change the operating system myself, you should not use the device in its current state. Google recommend that you restore your device to the original operating system.

If you modified the operating system on purpose, you can continue to use your device. However, you acknowledge that your device may not work properly and your data could be exposed to corruption and security risks.

If you have a Nexus device and want to restore your OS, you can flash your device with the latest factory image.


Generally, if you see any of the three warnings, the best option is to contact your device manufacturer’s support center for help restoring the operating system to the one that came on the device. Before you restore the operating system, make sure that any data you have on the device is backed up.

What happens upon dismissing the warnings?

The warning message should go away on its own after about 10 seconds and your device will continue starting up.

If you still see the warning message, you can continue starting up your device by pressing the power button once.

But if you’re not comfortable continuing to use the device, you can turn it off by pressing and holding the power button until your device turns off. You can contact the device’s manufacturer for help restoring the original operating system

 

 

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply